Search for the Amazon A+ Content image size and you will find two answers for the same banner: 970 x 600 px in one guide, 970 x 300 px in the next. Both numbers are real. They belong to different modules, and several guides mix the names up, so a seller can build a full set of artwork at the wrong size and only find out in the upload window.

This guide separates what Amazon itself states from what only third-party guides report, shows where those guides agree and where they do not, and gives a safe way to size every module. For the main image and the other listing slots, see our Amazon image requirements guide. This page covers only the A+ Content block below the buy box.

Why A+ Content Sizes Are Confusing

A+ Content is built from fixed modules in A+ Content Manager inside Seller Central. Each module has its own image slots at its own pixel size, so there is no single A+ image size. Basic A+ and Premium A+ also differ: Premium uses wider images and separate desktop and mobile uploads.

The complication is the source. Amazon's public Selling Partner blog guide to A+ Content states a file-size cap and some content rules, but it does not list pixel sizes per module. The per-module numbers live in Seller Central, behind a login, and in older Amazon template guides that sellers have copied into their own blog posts. We could not open those Seller Central pages, so every pixel size below is labelled as third-party.

What Amazon Itself Says

These points come from Amazon's own A+ Content design guide on its Selling Partner blog:

RuleWhat Amazon states
File sizeImage sizes should be no larger than 2 MB
Text inside imagesAvoid embedding text, so mobile shoppers can read the details on small screens
Resolution and motionAvoid low-resolution or animated images
ResizingResized images can turn blurry and unreadable, so follow the module dimensions
Module countUp to 5 Basic modules per ASIN, up to 7 Premium modules
PreviewA+ Content Manager previews desktop and mobile before you submit
EligibilityProfessional selling plan plus a brand enrolled in Brand Registry
Not allowedPricing, promotions, shipping details, QR codes, hyperlinks, contact details, and claims like best-selling or top-rated

Amazon does not put pixel dimensions in that guide. For those, the next two sections compare what third-party guides report.

Where Third-Party Guides Agree

We compared more than ten seller guides. These sizes showed up consistently:

ModuleReported size (px)
Company logo600 x 180
Header image with text970 x 600
Image with text overlay970 x 300
Single image or three-image cards300 x 300 per image
Comparison chart column150 x 300 per product
Premium full-width image1464 x 600 desktop, 600 x 450 mobile

Where They Disagree

These are the numbers that change from guide to guide. If your design file follows the wrong one, the upload either fails or gets scaled and softened.

SlotNumbers seenWhat to do
Full-width header970 x 600 or 970 x 300Two different modules. Some guides call the 970 x 300 px one the full-width header
Four-image module220 x 220, 225 x 225 or 135 x 135Read the size shown in the slot
Single image with specs or side image300 x 300 or 300 x 400Template-dependent, check the slot
Premium single image800 x 600 or 970 x 600Check the slot, desktop and mobile
Maximum file size2 MB, 5 MB or up to 10 MBUse Amazon's 2 MB
Minimum resolution72 dpi or 300 dpiNot stated by Amazon. Export sharp files at the module size

The only reliable rule is the last line of most of these guides too: the size shown in the A+ Content Manager upload window beats any blog post, including this one.

How to Size an A+ Image Set Safely

  1. Choose the modules first. Build the module stack in A+ Content Manager before you design anything, so every slot shows its own pixel size.
  2. Write the size down per slot. Copy the number from the upload window, not from a guide. Re-check it if you reuse a template.
  3. Design at the exact size. One third-party guide says Amazon may accept files at twice the listed size when the aspect ratio matches. Amazon does not state this in the guide we could open, so test one slot before you export a whole set.
  4. Pick the right format. Export photographic scenes as JPEG and flat graphics or logos as PNG, in RGB. Skip animated files.
  5. Keep every file under 2 MB. A 970 x 600 px PNG of a photo can pass 2 MB quickly, so check weight before upload.
  6. Keep text large and short. Amazon asks you to avoid embedded text, so use it only for a headline or short labels that stay readable on a phone.
  7. Preview desktop and mobile before you submit. Content goes live only after Amazon validates it.

Common A+ Upload Mistakes

That last one is an editing problem, not an A+ problem. If the product cutout is the weak point, our guide to pure white backgrounds for Amazon photos explains the fix, and our Amazon listing image editing service guide covers the full workflow. Selling on Walmart too? Its separate enhanced-content specs are in our Walmart rich media guide.

What It Costs to Resize an A+ Image Set

If you already have the artwork and only need it resized, reformatted and renamed to each module, that is image conversion. Our image conversion service lists these live rates:

TierPriceIncludes
Basic$0.19 per imageFormat conversion, resize to spec, rename, batch delivery
Standard$0.39 per imageFormat plus color mode, DPI change, profile embedding, 1 verification pass

Worked example: one A+ page with 10 image slots resized at the Basic tier is 10 x $0.19 = $1.90. At the Standard tier it is 10 x $0.39 = $3.90. For 10 ASINs with 10 slots each, that is $19.00 or $39.00. You send the module sizes from your upload window, and we match them. See what image conversion is for the format and color-mode background.

Pre-Upload Checklist

Not sure your files will fit the slots? Send 2 sample images and we will resize them to your spec for free.

Start your free trial

FAQ

What size should Amazon A+ Content images be?

It depends on the module. Third-party guides agree on 970 x 600 px for the header image with text, 970 x 300 px for the image with text overlay, 300 x 300 px for single-image and three-image cards, 150 x 300 px for comparison chart columns and 600 x 180 px for the company logo. Amazon shows the exact pixel size next to each slot in A+ Content Manager, so use that number.

Is the A+ Content header 970 x 600 or 970 x 300 px?

Both appear, because they are different modules. The header image with text is listed at 970 x 600 px, and the image with text overlay at 970 x 300 px. Some guides call the 970 x 300 px module the full-width header, which causes the mix-up. Pick the module first, then read the size in the upload window.

What is the maximum file size for A+ Content images?

Amazon states that A+ Content image sizes should be no larger than 2 MB. A few third-party guides quote 5 MB or 10 MB, but those figures are not from Amazon, so keep every file under 2 MB.

Do Premium A+ images use different sizes?

Yes. Third-party guides list the Premium full-width image at 1464 x 600 px for desktop plus a separate 600 x 450 px mobile image. Premium needs eligibility, and Amazon allows up to seven Premium modules against five Basic modules per ASIN.

Can I upload an image larger than the module size?

One third-party guide says Amazon may accept images at twice the listed size if the aspect ratio matches and the file stays under the cap. Amazon does not state this in the guide we could open, so test it in the upload window and check the mobile preview before you submit.

Tags

amazon a+ content amazon image size product photos image conversion ecommerce photo editing

Ready to get your images edited?

Upload 2 photos for a free trial edit — returned in under 24 hours.

Start free trial →