Search "Depop photo size" and most guides give you a confident number. Few of them come from Depop. Depop's Help Centre page on listing an item says up to four photos and one video in the app and up to eight photos on web, and it states no pixel size, aspect ratio or file-size cap. Depop's older seller guides ask for square photos. Third-party guides then add 1280 x 1280 px, 1080 x 1080 px and even a 4:5 frame. This guide separates what Depop says from what others claim, then shows how to prep one photo set that works.
Depop Photo Specs at a Glance
We opened Depop's Help Centre page "How to list an item" in full. Depop's blog and seller PDF pages (square advice, stock photos, flaws) and every third-party number come from search-result snippets and are marked that way. The last column shows where each point comes from, so you can tell a rule from a rumor.
| Requirement | What we found | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Photos per listing, app | Up to 4 photos and 1 video | Depop Help Centre, opened in full |
| Photos per listing, web | Up to 8 photos | Depop Help Centre, opened in full |
| Photo shape | Shoot square so photos fit the grid | Depop blog and seller PDF, search snippets |
| Pixel size | Not stated on the page we opened | Not stated |
| Maximum file size and format | Not stated on the page we opened | Not stated |
| Stock photos | Listings with stock photos are removed | Depop blog, search snippet |
| Tags and flaws | Show brand tags and any flaws | Depop blog, search snippet |
| Background | No white requirement found; keep your feed style consistent | Depop blog, search snippet |
| "1280 x 1280 px, 1:1" | Called ideal for Depop | Photoroom help page, third party, snippet |
| "1080 x 1350 px, 4:5" | Conflicts with the square advice | Pixfocal guide, third party, snippet |
| "640 px minimum, 15 MB cap" | Not on the Depop page we opened | isopeel guide, third party, snippet |
| Suggested master file | 1600 x 1600 px square JPEG, sRGB, item centered | Our recommendation, not a Depop number |
Heads-up: Depop's app and web upload screens can change at any time. Treat the pixel rows as safe defaults and confirm anything strict on your own upload screen.
Where Depop's Own Pages Disagree
4 photos or 8?
One Help Centre article gives two answers, split by where you list. The app flow says up to four photos and one video. The web flow says up to eight photos. Many third-party guides still repeat "four", and some tool blogs describe eight as a test that has since rolled out. The page does not say whether photos 5 to 8 added on web appear in the app listing, so check one of your own listings before you rely on them.
Plan for eight, but make slots 1 to 4 a complete story on their own. That way a buyer in the app gets the full picture either way.
Square or 4:5?
Depop's own seller guides, seen in search results, ask sellers to shoot square so photos fit the app's grid. The Help Centre listing page states no ratio at all. A third-party guide says 4:5 at 1080 x 1350 px, and a tool maker calls 1:1 at 1280 x 1280 px "ideal". We treat square as Depop's stated guidance and the 4:5 claim as unverified.
You do not have to bet on one. A 4:5 crop of a square keeps 80% of the width, so 1600 x 1600 px becomes 1280 x 1600 px. Keep the neckline, logo and hem inside the middle 80% of the frame and both shapes work.
Which pixel number?
Third-party guides quote 1280, 1080 and 640 px. None of those came from the Depop page we opened. With no published minimum, the safe move is to upload more resolution than you need rather than less.
One Master File That Works on Depop and Beyond
Shoot and export a 1600 x 1600 px square JPEG in sRGB, with the item centered and a small margin on every side. That is our suggested master, not a Depop requirement. It clears every pixel number above, still holds a clean 4:5 crop, and works on other resale sites.
Most resellers list in more than one place, and the sites do not agree. Here is how the three resale marketplaces we have covered compare:
| Depop | Poshmark | Mercari | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Photos per listing | 4 + 1 video (app), 8 (web) | Up to 16 + 1 video | Up to 12 |
| Cover frame | Square, per Depop's older guides | Portrait 3:4 | Not stated |
| Pixel spec | Not stated | 1000 x 1000 px tip, from a snippet | Not stated |
Details for the other two are in our Poshmark photo requirements guide and our Mercari image requirements guide. eBay publishes a 500 x 500 px minimum and recommends 1600 px on the longest side, as covered in our eBay image requirements guide. So keep one uncropped original and export each platform's version from it, instead of re-cropping an already cropped file. If an upload is ever rejected, the fix is usually a resize or a format change, which our image conversion service handles.
A Shot Plan: 4 Core Slots, 4 Bonus Slots
Depop's own advice is to show how the item looks and fits, include brand tags, and show any flaws. This order is our suggestion, built around that advice and the four-slot app limit.
Core slots, which work everywhere:
- Slot 1: the full item, plain background, centered. This is your thumbnail in the grid.
- Slot 2: the back, or a worn or hanging view that shows the fit.
- Slot 3: the brand tag and size label.
- Slot 4: the main flaw, or the best close-up of a detail.
Bonus slots, for listings made on web:
- Slot 5: fabric texture, hardware or stitching.
- Slot 6: a tape measure laid against the item.
- Slot 7: a styled or worn shot.
- Slot 8: any extra flaw, photographed up close.
Which Edits Are Safe on Depop, and Which Are Not
Depop's guidance is to show tags and flaws, and its blog says listings with stock photos are removed. So the line is simple: clean up the photo, never the item.
- Safe: background clean-up, straightening and cropping, and exposure and white-balance correction. Depop's guide notes that direct sunlight can wash out colors, so matching the photo to the real color is fair.
- Not safe: erasing a stain, tear or fading, changing the item's color, reshaping it, or swapping your photo for a stock or supplier image. A photo that hides a flaw is a misrepresentation risk, not a style choice.
Slot 1 is where editing pays off most. Depop's guide asks sellers to keep a feed in a similar style, and a messy bedroom backdrop breaks that fast. A clipping path cutout on a clean background fixes the thumbnail without a reshoot. Uneven lighting across a batch and cluttered backdrops are the usual culprits, and our product photography mistakes guide shows how to avoid them at the shoot stage.
What Cleaning Up Depop Photos Costs
Prices below are from our live service pages:
- Clipping path: $0.39 simple, $0.69 medium, $0.99 complex per image
- Image conversion: $0.19 basic (format and resize), $0.39 standard (adds color mode or DPI change)
Most sellers only need slot 1 cleaned up. A simple cutout plus a basic resize to the square master is $0.39 + $0.19 = $0.58 per listing, or $58 for 100 listings. Cutting out all 8 photos at the simple rate would be 8 x $0.39 = $3.12 per listing before conversion, which is rarely necessary. Items with straps or holes, such as bags, may need the medium tier at $0.69.
Want your Depop cover photo to look right? Send two sample images and we'll edit them free. Start the free trial →
Frequently Asked Questions
How many photos can I add to a Depop listing?
Depop's Help Centre page "How to list an item" says up to four photos and one video when you list in the app, and up to eight photos when you list on Depop.com. Many third-party guides still say four. The page does not say whether photos 5 to 8 added on web show in the app, so check one of your own listings.
What size should Depop photos be?
The Help Centre page we opened does not state a pixel size. Third-party guides quote 1280 x 1280 px, 1080 x 1080 px and 1080 x 1350 px, and none of those numbers came from the Depop pages we opened. Our suggested master file is a 1600 x 1600 px square JPEG in sRGB, which is our own number, not a Depop rule.
Are Depop photos square?
Depop's older seller guides, seen in search results, ask sellers to shoot square so photos fit the app's grid. The Help Centre listing page states no ratio, and one third-party guide says 4:5. Treat square as Depop's stated guidance, and keep key details in the middle 80% of the width so a 4:5 crop also works.
Does Depop require a white background?
Not on the page we opened. Depop's guides ask for a consistent style across your feed, and a plain background is the easiest way to keep that. White is simply the easiest plain background to match across a batch, and it also works if you cross-list to stricter marketplaces.
Can I use stock or supplier photos on Depop?
No. Depop's blog, seen in a search result, says listings with stock photos are removed. Photograph the item you are actually selling. Editing the background of your own photo is fine.
Can I edit a flaw out of my Depop photo?
No. Depop's guide, seen in a search result, tells sellers to show tags and flaws. Edit the background, crop, straightening, exposure and color so the photo matches the real item, but leave stains, tears and wear visible.
Tags
Ready to get your images edited?
Upload 2 photos for a free trial edit — returned in under 24 hours.
Start free trial →