Every marketplace publishes its own photo rules, and no two agree. One wants a 1:1 square, the next wants a 3:4 portrait, and a third caps files at 2 MB while its neighbor allows 10 MB. If you sell on more than one platform, you end up opening a dozen help pages just to resize one product shot.

This cheat sheet puts the headline numbers for 35+ platforms in one place: pixel minimums, ratios, file caps and photo counts. Every row comes from one of our full platform guides, and each row links to that guide for the detail. Where a platform's own pages disagree, or where its rules sit behind a seller login, the row says so instead of picking a number for you.

How to Read This Cheat Sheet

Marketplace Image Size Cheat Sheet

Global Marketplaces and Shop Platforms

PlatformSize and ratioFile and photo rulesWatch out for
Amazon1,000 px longest side minimum, 2,000 px+ recommendedJPEG, about 10 MB, pure white RGB 255, 255, 255, product fills 85%+A+ Content modules have their own sizes (see below)
eBay500 x 500 px minimum, about 1,600 px recommended, 1:1 or 16:9Up to 24 photos, 12 MB per photoWhite background recommended, not enforced
Walmart1,500 x 1,500 px for zoom, 2,200 x 2,200 px recommended, 1:1 requiredJPEG, PNG or BMP, 5 MB, seamless whiteWill not pad a near-square image for you
Etsy2,000 px shortest side recommended, square, 4:3 or 4:5JPG, PNG or GIF, 10 MBNo white background rule
Google Shopping500 x 500 px minimumSee the guide for file and fill rulesThe size floor is being enforced in phases
Facebook Shops and Instagram Shops500 x 500 px minimum, 1,200 x 1,200 px square is our masterJPEG or PNG, 8 MBExtra images: 50 in Meta developer docs, some guides say 20 (sources disagree)
Pinterest product pins1,000 x 1,500 px main imageUp to 10 additional images, each at least 75 x 75 pxFile size and format not stated on the catalog help page
BigCommerce1,280 x 1,280 px recommended8 MB per image500 KB is a page-speed target, not a limit

Regional and Cross-Border Marketplaces

PlatformSize and ratioFile and photo rulesWatch out for
Lazada1:1, up to 2,000 x 2,000 px, minimum 330–500 px (sources disagree)JPEG, 3–8 images, 3 MB cap in one guide onlyNo Lazada-hosted spec found; every number is labeled in the guide
Mercado Libre1,200 pxProduct fills about 95% of the frameSeller help and developer docs differ on minimum size, file cap and fill
Zalando1:1.44 portrait, 1,801 x 2,600 pxPackshot or model view, no visible mannequinRatio rounding: 1.445 becomes 1.45
Temu1:1 at 800 x 800 px minimum (1,600 px recommended), apparel 3:4 at 1,340 x 1,785 pxJPEG or PNG, 3 MB, at least 3 imagesSeller Center is login-gated, so numbers come from integration guides
Shein4 ratios, 900–2,200 px3 MB capLogin-gated, so figures come from partner guides (sources disagree)
AliExpress800 x 800 px minimum, 1,000 px+ preferred5 MB (10 MB on one AliExpress page), up to 6 gallery images750 x 360 px is a creator-post size, not a product photo size
Flipkart1,000 x 1,000 px minimumJPEG only, 2 images minimum, 3 preferredApparel goes on light grey, not white
Meesho1:1 or 3:4, 500 px or 1,000 px minimum (sources disagree)About 2 MB or 5 MB (sources disagree)Supplier panel is login-gated
Jumia500 x 500 to 2,000 x 2,000 pxJPEG, TIFF or PNG, 2 MB, up to 8 images, 80% fill2,000 px is a ceiling, and Jumia's pages disagree on whether white is a must
Takealot600–5,000 px10 MB, 85–95% fillOne third-party guide says 2 MB; footwear needs 3 or 5 images depending on the document line
Noon660 px minimum width, ratio 0.5 or 0.73 (two Noon pages differ)JPEG only, 10 MBFashion main images use light grey
Kaufland1,024 px recommended minimum, 2,048 px for zoom10 MB, 5–10 images, PNG, JPG, WEBP, TIFF or GIFNo aspect ratio rule
AllegroUp to 2,560 x 2,560 px and 26 Mpx, minimum 400 or 500 px (sources disagree)JPG or PNG, sRGBThe first image (thumbnail) is strict, the rest of the gallery is looser
bol.com500 x 500 px minimum, 6,000 x 6,000 px maximum, 1,200 x 1,200 px for zoom30 KB to 10 MBWhite neutral background, front view, no model or text on the main image

Electronics, Big-Box and Wholesale

PlatformSize and ratioFile and photo rulesWatch out for
Newegg640 px wide x 480 px high5 MB (10 MB in secondary guides)No collage, person or model on the primary image
Best BuyVendor guide: 1,500 x 1,500 px minimum, 300 DPI. Canada feed: 500 x 500 px minimumCanada feed 10 MB, 45-degree main shotThe vendor guide is a generic PDF, and the US marketplace guideline is login-gated
Target Plus1:1, 1,000 or 1,200 px minimum (sources disagree), 2,400 px preferredJPG, PNG or TIF, 300 dpi in one checklistPartner portal is login-gated
Faire (products)1,050 x 1,050 px ideal, 600 x 600 px minimumJPG or PNG, no file cap statedHero image on a white or light background
Faire (brand banner)Cover 4,400 x 1,000 px, minimum 1,111 x 252 pxPNG or JPEGA 4.4:1 strip crops an ordinary photo hard
Amazon A+ ContentHeader 970 x 600 or 970 x 300 px (guides disagree)Amazon's own seller blog states 2 MBMost pixel sizes come from third-party guides, not Amazon

Resale and Fashion Marketplaces

PlatformSize and ratioFile and photo rulesWatch out for
PoshmarkCover photo 3:4 portrait; an older guide still says squareUp to 16 photosPoshmark's own pages disagree on the ratio
DepopSquare or 4:5 (third-party sizes only)4 photos in the app, 8 on the webDepop's help page gives no pixel size
VintedNot statedUp to 20 photos, no collagesPhoto 1 must show the whole item
MercariNot statedUp to 12 photos, plain backgroundEdit the photo, never the item

Property and Travel Platforms

PlatformSize and ratioFile and photo rulesWatch out for
Airbnb1,024 x 683 px (Help Center) or 1,200 x 800 px (Resource Center)Up to about 10 MB, horizontal photosAirbnb's own two pages give two minimums
Vrbo1,024 x 683 px minimum, 3,840 x 2,160 px idealAt least 6 photos, JPEG, PNG, WebP or AVIFNo file cap on the Vrbo page itself
Booking.com2,048 x 1,080 px minimum, 4,000 x 3,000 px preferred, landscape onlyAt least 10 photosNo file cap in the host article
Agoda800 x 600 px4 MB or 10 MB, JPG only or JPG and PNG (sources disagree)Check the cap in your Partner Hub
Rightmove and ZooplaRightmove 1,024 x 683 px, Zoopla 1,024 x 768 pxSee the guide for file rulesThe two portals use different ratios
Zillow330 x 220 px feed minimum or 1,536 x 1,152 px suggested (sources disagree)5 MB on the feed, a much higher cap on the help textThree upload routes with different rules
eBay MotorsGeneral eBay rules: 500 x 500 px minimum20, 30 or 40 photos depending on the packageeBay publishes no vehicle-specific pixel spec

Guides Without One Headline Number

Some platforms do not reduce to a single row. Open these guides for the full picture:

Where the Numbers Disagree Most

Four patterns cause most rejected uploads:

  1. Two pages from the same platform. Airbnb gives 1,024 x 683 px on one page and 1,200 x 800 px on another. Poshmark gives a 3:4 cover on one page and square on another. Noon's two pages differ on ratio.
  2. Official page versus partner guide. Agoda's 4 MB and 10 MB, Takealot's 10 MB and 2 MB, and Target Plus's 1,000 and 1,200 px all trace back to this gap.
  3. Square versus portrait. Walmart, Lazada and the Meta catalog want 1:1. Zalando wants 1:1.44. Poshmark wants 3:4, and Depop and Vinted guides lean toward 4:5.
  4. Ceilings, not just floors. Jumia stops at 2,000 px and Lazada's guides cap at 2,000 x 2,000 px, so a 4,000 px camera original is too large and has to be scaled down.

The Tightest Limits to Design Around

LimitPlatforms
2 MB file capJumia; Amazon A+ Content modules per Amazon's seller blog; Meesho in some guides
3 MB file capTemu, Shein, and one Lazada guide
5 MB file capWalmart, Newegg, AliExpress (one page says 10 MB)
2,000 px ceilingJumia, and Lazada in its guides
1:1 squareWalmart (required); Lazada, Meta catalog and Target Plus per their guides
Portrait ratioZalando 1:1.44, Poshmark cover 3:4, Temu and Shein apparel 3:4
Landscape onlyBooking.com, and horizontal photos on Airbnb

The practical takeaway: keep a pure white square master and export down for each platform. Our Amazon, eBay, Walmart and Etsy comparison walks through that workflow for four platforms, and our pure white background guide covers how to check that white is truly RGB 255, 255, 255.

A Master File That Clears Most of the Sheet

This is our suggestion, not a platform number. Shoot or edit one 2,000 x 2,000 px square JPEG in sRGB on pure white, compressed under 2 MB. That sits inside Jumia's 2,000 px ceiling, meets the pixel minimum on the product-photo rows in the first three tables, and fits under the tightest file caps. Zalando's portrait ratio, the Faire banner and the A+ Content modules are different formats and need their own files. Two groups need their own export:

Walmart's recommended 2,200 px and Etsy's 2,000 px shortest side are recommendations, not hard floors, so a 2,000 px master still passes their minimums. If a platform lists a recommended size above your master, upload the larger original there instead of upscaling.

Resizing One Catalog for Many Platforms

Once the master is locked, the work is exports, not retouching: resize to each platform's canvas, set the ratio, hold the file under the cap, and embed the right color profile. That is a batch conversion job, and it is slow to get right by hand across hundreds of files.

Our Image Conversion service does exactly this, and sends the files back in 24–48 hours with one free revision. Current rates are $0.19 per image for format conversion and resize to spec, and $0.39 per image when the job also needs a color mode change, a DPI change or profile embedding. Orders of 500+ images get a volume rate on request.

As a worked example, take one product with 6 images that has to go out on three platforms with different specs. That is 18 exported files, and at the basic rate 18 x $0.19 comes to about $3.42. If the main image on each platform also needs a clean white cutout first, a clipping path comes before the conversion step.

Resizing cannot create detail that was never captured. If an original is far below a platform's minimum, a reshoot beats upscaling.

Not sure your current photos would pass? Send two sample images and we will edit them to spec, free, through our free trial.

Pre-Upload Checklist

FAQ

What is the best all-purpose marketplace image size?

No single size fits every platform, but a 2,000 x 2,000 px square JPEG in sRGB, under 2 MB and on pure white, clears most of the general marketplaces in this sheet. It is our suggestion, not a platform number. Fashion and resale platforms with portrait ratios, and property platforms that want landscape, need their own exports.

Which marketplaces want portrait images instead of square?

Zalando asks for 1:1.44 portrait. Poshmark moved its cover photo to 3:4. Temu and Shein list 3:4 for apparel, Meesho allows 3:4, and Depop and Vinted guides lean toward 4:5. Walmart, Lazada, the Meta catalog and Target Plus stay at 1:1.

Which marketplace has the smallest file size cap?

Jumia states 2 MB across all three of its image pages. Amazon's seller blog also gives 2 MB for A+ Content images, and some Meesho guides quote about 2 MB. Temu, Shein and one Lazada guide use 3 MB. Because the caps differ so much, export to the smallest file weight first.

Do I need a separate set of photos for each marketplace?

Usually one shoot is enough, but not one file. The differences between platforms are mostly resize, ratio, file weight and background color, which is a batch conversion task rather than a new retouching job.

How accurate is this cheat sheet?

Each row summarizes the figures in our full platform guide and labels where a platform's pages disagree. Platforms update their rules and many seller portals sit behind a login, so confirm borderline numbers in your own seller account before a large upload.

Tags

marketplace image size product image size chart marketplace photo compliance image requirements ecommerce photo editing

Ready to get your images edited?

Upload 2 photos for a free trial edit — returned in under 24 hours.

Start free trial →